Personal preference here, but I'd like to see deletes (of groups, operations etc) handled only after a confirmation of the action is given by the user. It might save tears if the user selects the wrong one first up (after that its fair game).
I wouldn't care if it was a popup on the same page or if you redirect to a confirmation page. Either would do the trick.
Customer support service by UserEcho